Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated┬«                                   



      In 1908 at Howard University, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority became the first Greek-letter organization established by Black college women. The idea to create an organization that would enrich the social and intellectual aspects of college life was conceived by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle.Today, we are a sisterhood composed of women who have consciously chosen this affiliation as a means of self-fulfillment through volunteer service.


The Original Group: Marjorie Hill, Lucy D. Slowe, Lillie Burke, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Anna E. Brown, Marie Woolfolk Taylor, Beulah E. Burke, Margaret Flagg Holmes, and Lavinia Norman  

The Sophomores of 1908: Norma Boyd, Ethel J. Mowbray, Alice P. Murray,
Sarah M. Nutter, Joanna B. Shields, Carrie E. Snowden, and Harriett J. Terry.

The Incorporators: Norma Boyd, Julia E. Brooks, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Nellie M. Quander,
Nellie Pratt Russell, and Minnie B. Smith.

Alpha Kappa Alpha cultivates and encourages high scholastic and ethical standards; promotes unity and friendship among college women; alleviates problems concerning girls and women; maintains a progressive interest in college life; and serves all mankind
through a nucleus of more than 260,000 women in the United States, the
Caribbean, Europe, and Africa. 

 For more information please visit the International website at: